International Family Law in the US: IAFL USA Chapter

Welcome to the USA Chapter homepage of the International Academy of Family Lawyers.

The IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and expert family law specialists in their respective countries.

The Academy was formed in 1986, inspired in part by the success of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, an organisation founded in 1962 to improve the practice of law and administration of justice in the area of divorce and family law in the USA.

The primary objective of the Academy is to improve international family law practice throughout the world. It pursues that objective in a number of ways: creating a network of expertise in international family law around the world; providing its fellows with information about both international and national developments in the law; offering advice and assistance to the wider public; promoting law reform and, where possible, harmonisation of law.

  Name Role Location Terms Ends
Stuart Barr Co-opted Member, Management Committee Adelaide, South Australia, Australia 2024
Inger Blackford Vice President Auckland, New Zealand 2025
Anita Chan Co-opted Member, Management Committee Dunedin, New Zealand 2022
Rita Ku Co-Opted Member, Management Committee Central, Hong Kong, China 2025
Poonam Mirchandani Vice President Singapore, Singapore 2022
Corinne Remedios Immediate Past President Central, Hong Kong, China 2024
John Spender President Elect, Asia Pacific Chapter Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 2026
Jason Walker Co-opted Member, Management Committee Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 2022
Geoff Wilson Immediate Past President Brisbane, QLD, Australia 2025
Kai Yun Wong President, Asia Pacific Chapter Singapore, Singapore 2026
Kay Melbye President Victoria, British Columbia, Canada 2024
Karen Shirley-Paterson Secretary Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada 2024
Karon Bales Immediate Past President Toronto, Ontario, Canada 2024
Oren Weinberg President Elect Toronto, Ontario, Canada 2024
Caroline Harnois Treasurer Montreal, Quebec, Canada 2024
Emma Hatley President Elect London, England 2025
William Healing Vice President London, England 2025
Renato Labi Secretary London, England 2025
Alice Meier-Bourdeau Vice President Paris, France 2025
Isabelle Rein-Lescastereyres Vice President Paris, France 2022
Julia Pasche Treasurer Munich, Germany 2025
Soma Kölcsényi Vice President Budapest, Hungary 2025
Sandra Verburgt President The Hague, Netherlands 2025
Karen O'Leary Elected Member, Management Committee Derry - Londonderry, Northern Ireland 2025
Alberto Perez Cedillo Immediate Past President Madrid, Spain 2025
Wendy Crew President-Elect Birmingham 2024
William Glucksman Treasurer Los Angeles 2024
Frederic Siegel Vice President Stamford 2025
Jorge Cestero Past President West Palm Beach 2024
Tina Roddenbery Parliamentarian Atlanta 2024
Reneaux Collins Immediate Past President Louisville 2024
Deborah Webb Vice President Bethesda 2024
Amanda Trigg Counsel Saddle Brook 2024
Susan Moss Secretary New York 2024
Pamela Sloan Counsel New York 2022
Peter Buchbauer President Winchester 2024
Katharine Maddox First Vice President Falls Church 2024
William Sloan Secretary Subiaco, Western Australia, Australia 2026
Karen O'Leary Elected Member, Management Committee Dublin, Ireland 2025
Masami Kittaka Co-opted Member, Management Committee Tokyo, Japan 2025
Jeremy Chan Treasurer Admiralty, Hong Kong, China 2026

© 2024 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: