Forthcoming IAFL Events

Hot Topics in Family Law in Africa

Event date: 05 Feb 2021


CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

Details

Date: Friday 5th February 2021
Intended Audience: IAFL Fellows and non IAFL Fellow Lawyers from Africa 
Time: UTC 
11:30-15:45hrs UTC 09:00-12:45hrs UTC (Los Angeles 03:30-07:45hrs; New York 06:30-10:45hrs; London 11:30-15:45hrs; Paris 12:30-16:45hrs; Hong Kong 19:30hrs - 23:45hrs; Sydney 22:30-02:45hrs; Saturday 6th February - Auckland 00:30-04:45hrs)
Coordinated by:
 Coordinated by Jorge Cestero (Florida, USA)

This virtual meeting is brought to you in conjunction with The Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA). The sessions will include:-

11:30-11:40 Welcome and Introduction: Marlene Moses (Tennessee, USA - IAFL President) and Linda Kasonde (Zambia - Vice President Africa, Commonwealth Lawyers Association)

11:40-12:30 Marriage: the status and consequences of customary, religious and same-sex marriage
Chair: Susan Abro (South Africa)
Panel to include: Efosa Etomi (Nigeria)

12:30-13:30 The Day of the African Child: 30 years on, where are we now?
Chair: 
Patient (Pepsi) Samukelo Thuto (Botswana)
Panel to include: 
Adelaide Benneh Prempeh (Ghana) and Maria Mbeneka (Kenya - from the CLA)

13:30-13:45 Break

13:45-14:45 Resolving family law disputes: litigation, arbitration, mediation and other consensus-based resolution
Chair: 
Zenobia Du Toit (South Africa)
Panel to include: 
Pat Moodley (South Africa)

14:45- 15:30 Networking breakouts

15:30-15:45 Summary and farewell

For more information about the webinar, please contact Ali Massey via ali.massey@iafl.com 

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

© 2021 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: