Forthcoming IAFL Webinars

Religious Freedom to Curtail Freedom

Event date: 24 Sep 2020


Add to my calendar

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THIS WEBINAR

Details

Date: Thursday 24th September 2020
Time: 
13:00 - 14:00hrs UTC (Los Angeles 06:00-07:00hrs; New York 09:00-10:00hrs; London 14:00-15:00hrs; Paris 15:00-16:00hrs; Hong Kong 21:00-22:00hrs; Sydney 23:00-24:00hrs; Auckland 01:00-02:00hrs - Friday 25th September)

Chair: Larry Ginsberg (California, USA)
Panel: 
Nicholas Lobenthal (New York, USA), Nigel Nicholls (Australia), Professor Dr Jakub Urbanik (Poland)

Free exercise of religion is a basic civil right.  The rights to marry, divorce, adopt children, and conduct private and business affairs without being discriminated against on the basis of race, religion, disability, sex, sexual orientation, age and other factors are also basic civil rights.  Which rights prevail when there is actual or supposed conflict?  Can the state enable religious practitioners to discriminate – even on the basis of religion?  If so, must the state also afford non-religious practitioners the same right to discriminate to avoid establishing a favored state religion?  What protections would then be afforded the religious practitioners being discriminated against on the basis of their religion?  If free exercise of religion includes discrimination, what is left of other civil rights, including family law rights for same-sex couples, some of whom may have religious motivations for establishing families? 

Answers to these unanswerable questions are now being demanded by litigants and provided by Courts.  Unlike other IAFL Fellows Chats, this free-wheeling survey of some trends in Australia, Poland and the US will not provide any correct answers. 

For more information about the webinar, please contact Ali Massey via ali.massey@iafl.com 

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THIS WEBINAR

© 2020 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: