Forthcoming IAFL Webinars

Moral Maze: Medicine and family law

Event date: 03 Jun 2020


Add to my calendar

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE WEBINAR

Details

Date: Wednesday 3rd June 2020
Time:
13:00 - 14:00hrs UTC (Los Angeles 06:00-07:00hrs; New York 09:00-10:00hrs; London 14:00-15:00hrs; Paris 15:00-16:00hrs; Hong Kong 21:00-22:00hrs; Sydney 23:00-24:00hrs; Auckland 01:00-02:00hrs - Thursday 4th June)
Chaired by: 
Sir Nicholas Francis (England)
Panel: Suzanne Kingston (England), Delphine Eskenazi (France), Johan Sarvik (Sweden), Lola López-Muelas Vicente (Spain), Anne Lamkin Durward (Alabama, USA)

The webinar will consider the crossover between family law and medicine and what happens when practitioners and judges have to consider moral decisions. It will focus on a case study where there are disputes between parents and medical practitioners; where doctors and parents disagree over treatment – religion; where  doctors and parents disagree over continuing life-sustaining treatment; where a child patient does not consent to treatment or refuses treatment. It will explore medical confidentiality and the situation when parents wish to disclose information and insist on genetic testing of their children. Sir Nicholas Francis will lead the discussion which will hear from lawyers in England, France, Sweden, Spain and Alabama.

This session was originally scheduled to have taken place during the Education Programme at the IAFL Annual Meeting in Oslo. 

Click here to view the supporting documents

For further information about the webinar, please contact Ali Massey via ali.massey@iafl.com

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE WEBINAR

© 2020 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: