Forthcoming IAFL Webinars

Religion and family law

Event date: 04 Jun 2020


Add to my calendar

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE WEBINAR

Details

Date: Thursday 4th June 2020
Time:
12:00-13:00 UTC (Los Angeles 05:00-06:00hrs; New York 08:00-09:00hrs; London 13:00-14:00hrs; Paris 14:00-15:00hrs; Hong Kong 20:00-21:00hrs; Sydney 22:00-23:00hrs; Auckland 00:00-01:00hrs - Friday 5th June)
Chaired by:
Alice Meier-Bourdeau (France)
Panel: Minna Boström (Sweden)Juliette Minot (France), Kai Yun Wong (Singapore), Juan Zarricueta (Chile)

The webinar will consider the crossover between family law and religion and how family law integrates an individual's moral, ethical and religious personal considerations. Under French Law, for example, the principle is that an individual's choices and opinions based on religious considerations have to be respected. This solution is based on the right and freedom of religion provided by Article 9 of the European Convention on Human Rights. Parents can therefore choose to enrol their children in a private school with religious classes, bring them to religious events etc. However, by way of exception, those personal choices and opinions can be disregarded for public policy reasons. Alice Meier-Bourdeau will lead the discussion which will hear lawyers from France, Sweden, Chile and Singapore.

Click here to view the supporting documents

For further information about the webinar, please contact Ali Massey via ali.massey@iafl.com

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE WEBINAR

© 2020 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: