IAFL European Chapter Young Lawyers Award 2019

Posted: 07 Nov 2018

Approximately eight years ago, the European Chapter of the International Academy of Family Lawyers (“IAFL”) established a writing award for young family lawyers to be awarded on an annual basis. The award aims to promote research and excellence among young family lawyers and to increase awareness among other legal professionals of the work and objectives of the IAFL.


The Young Lawyers Award carries a prize of €1,000, awarded to the author of the winning contribution, and two €500 prizes for the best runners up.

The prizes will be presented at the IAFL Introduction to International Family Law Conference to be held in Milan, Italy, from Thursday 21st March 2019 to Friday 22nd March 2019.

The results will be announced during the week beginning Monday 11th February 2019. The winner and two best runners up will also receive a subsidy of up to €500 for travel and accommodation plus free registration to enable them to attend the Milan conference.


A panel of European Chapter Fellows will be responsible for the selection of the winning compositions. The committee will read the contributions of the applicants and select a winner and two best runners up based on the practical and theoretical interest and legal analysis of the contribution.

Subject Matter

The Young Lawyers Award winner will be selected on the basis of his or her written composition concerning International or European Family law, and the winner will then be invited to give an oral presentation on his or her contribution at the IAFL Introduction to International Family Law Conference in Milan in March 2019.

The topic for the 2019 award is:

‘The Commmission proposal to review the Brussels II Revised regulation’

The contribution should ideally be written English, however, translations can be obtained should the applicant wish to write in their own language. It should be no more than 3000 words, with the speech (which should be delivered in English) a maximum of 10-15 minutes.


The author of the composition should be a qualified practising family lawyer of up to ten years qualification and/or experience and be residing in a European jurisdiction.  Entries from trainee lawyers, pupil barristers or the equivalent are also welcomed.


The winning entry will be published on the IAFL website. The entry should not have been published or be under consideration for publication elsewhere, although it can subsequently be published elsewhere with appropriate reference to the IAFL. 

Time Deadlines

The contributions for consideration in respect of the seventh annual award should be submitted no later than Monday 21st January 2019. Submissions should be sent electronically to Ali Massey of the IAFL at

© 2022 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: