IAFL European Chapter Young Lawyers Award 2021

Posted: 13 Oct 2020

Approximately ten years ago, the European Chapter of the International Academy of Family Lawyers (“IAFL”) established a writing award for young family lawyers to be awarded on an annual basis. The award aims to promote research and excellence among young family lawyers and to increase awareness among other legal professionals of the work and objectives of the IAFL.


The Young Lawyers Award carries a prize of €1,000, awarded to the author of the winning contribution, and two €500 prizes for the best runners up. The results of the 2021 award will be announced on Monday 1st March 2021. 


A panel of European Chapter Fellows will be responsible for the selection of the winning contributions. The Young Lawyers Award winner will be selected by the panel on the basis of the written composition concerning International or European Family law, the practical and theoretical interest and the legal analysis of the contribution.

Subject Matter

The topic for the 2021 award is:

'On the 40th Anniversary of The Hague Convention 1980 on child abduction, what lessons have been learnt? If you were asked to change or add three things to the Convention what would they be and why?'

The contribution should ideally be written in English, however, translations can be obtained should the applicant wish to write in their own language. It should be no more than 3000 words and should not contain any information which could reveal the identity of the writer to the judging panel as otherwise they will be disqualified.


The author of the composition should be a qualified practising family lawyer of up to ten years qualification and/or experience and be residing in a European jurisdiction. Iceland, Turkey and The Russian Federation are all included.  Entries from trainee lawyers, pupil barristers or the equivalent are also welcomed.


The winning entry will be published on the IAFL website. The entry should not have been published or be under consideration for publication elsewhere, although it can subsequently be published elsewhere with appropriate reference to the IAFL. 

Time Deadlines

The contributions for consideration in respect of the ninth annual award should be submitted before Monday 1st February 2021. Submissions should be sent electronically to Ali Massey of the IAFL at

© 2024 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: