Winner Announced: IAFL European Chapter Young Lawyers Award 2020

Posted: 13 Mar 2020

The eighth IAFL European Chapter Annual Award for Young Family Lawyers has been awarded to Eleri Jones (London). This year’s entrants were asked to write a composition on the subject of ‘Brexit and International Family Law'

The judging panel made up of IAFL Fellows Alexandre Boiché (France), Marie Baronin von Maydell (Germany), Ruth Cabeza (England), Karen O'Leary (Ireland & Northern Ireland), Ian Sumner (Netherlands) and Sandra Verburgt (Netherlands), were impressed by the excellent submissions that they reviewed from eligible candidates throughout Europe. As winner of the award, Eleri Jones was awarded €1,000. The two runners up who were each awarded €500, were Stacey Nevin (England) and Karina Zabrodina (Italy).

Eleri, Stacey and Karina were all planning to attend the IAFL Introduction to European Family Law Conference in Kyiv in March 2020, supported by up to €500 towards their accommodation and travel costs and complimentary registration. In addition to receiving their awards, Eleri would have had an opportunity to present her paper, however, unfortunately due to coronavirus COVID-19, the conference was postponed. IAFL very much hopes to welcome them all to the rescheduled Kyiv Conference in March 2021. 

The topic for the European Chapter Young Lawyers Award 2021 will be publicised in October 2020. Participation in this competition provides an excellent opportunity for any young family lawyer wishing to gain acknowledged expertise in the field of international family law.

Many thanks to Alexandre, Marie, Ruth, Karen, Ian and Sandra for all their hard work in selecting the winning entrants from a very competitive field of candidates and congratulations to all of the excellent participants.

Click here to view Eleri Jones' winning entry

© 2024 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: