IAFL European Chapter Young Lawyers Award 2022

Posted: 13 Oct 2021

Approximately 11 years ago, the European Chapter of IAFL established an annual writing award for young family lawyers. The award aims to promote research and excellence among young family lawyers and to increase awareness among other legal professionals of the work and objectives of the IAFL.


The Young Lawyers Award carries a prize of €1,000, awarded to the author of the winning contribution, and two €500 prizes for the best runners up.

In 2022, the prizes will be presented at the IAFL Introduction to European Family Law Conference to be held in Ibiza, Spain, from Thursday 13th to Friday 14th October 2022. The winner will be invited to give an oral presentation on his or her contribution during this conference. 

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 7th June 2022. The winner and two best runners up will also receive a subsidy of up to €500 for travel and accommodation plus free registration to enable them to attend the Ibiza conference.


A panel of European Chapter Fellows will be responsible for the selection of the winning contributions. The Young Lawyers Award winner will be selected by the panel on the basis of the written composition concerning International or European Family law, the practical and theoretical interest and the legal analysis of the contribution.

Subject Matter

The topic for the 2022 award is:

‘Inter-country adoption is in decline. Discuss. What is your point of view about this statement?’

The contribution should ideally be written in English, however, translations can be obtained should the applicant wish to write in their own language. It should be no more than 3000 words and should not contain any information which could reveal the identity of the writer to the judging panel as otherwise they will be disqualified.


The author of the composition should be a qualified practising family lawyer of up to ten years qualification and/or experience and be residing in a European jurisdiction. Iceland, Turkey and The Russian Federation are all included.  Entries from trainee lawyers, pupil barristers or the equivalent are also welcomed.


The winning entry will be published on the IAFL website. The entry should not have been published or be under consideration for publication elsewhere, although it can subsequently be published elsewhere with appropriate reference to the IAFL. 


The contributions for consideration in respect of the ninth annual award should be submitted before Friday 1st April 2022. Submissions should be sent electronically to Ele Dexter of the IAFL at 

© 2024 IAFL. All rights reserved.

IAFL is a worldwide association of practising lawyers who are recognised by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries.

Website by: